Photo Fun With Sunflowers

A friend gave us a couple of sunflower plants last spring, and Hubby tucked them into the messy back garden. Although they didn’t have a fantastic showing, I enjoyed seeing their happy faces from the kitchen window.

1

One sunny day, I had some fun photographing them with my Canon ELPH 350’s creative shot option. In this mode, the camera takes three or four successive photos, then displays a brief collage of six random special effects on the viewing screen. I wish the collage could be saved as it’s shown, but it can’t, so I’m not sure why it’s even shown that way. Each photo is saved individually, and occasionally I get a real gem.

The first photo is always taken with a regular setting.

2

The camera will also recompose the shot for added emphasis, squaring or oblonging the frame; sometimes cropping the subject. In this example, it also applied vivid colours.

3

This effect might be called posterizing, which makes the photo resemble an old poster or illustration. It’s my favourite, and I wish I could apply it whenever I choose, but it’s only arbitrarily available in the creative shot option.

4

I’m not sure what this effect is called, but I’m not a fan. The photo looks underexposed.

5

I don’t much care for this effect either, with the blurred edges.

6

This one with vivid colour applied, I like.

7

Perhaps you noticed the ugliest spider, ever, devouring a wasp on that sunflower. I didn’t at first, so I had to remove the offensive creature and start again. The originals aren’t all that awe-inspiring, but here’s a selection of the most and least interesting shots.

Original:

8

Effects I liked:

9 10 11

 

Effects I didn’t care for:

12

Original:

13

Effects I liked:

14

 

Effects I didn’t care for:

15

16 17

Original:

18

Effects I liked:

19 20 21

 

Just okay:

22

Original:

23

Effects I liked:

24 25 26

 

Effects I didn’t care for:

27

Original (rather crappy shot):

28

Effects I liked (the second is my very fav):

29 30

Effects I didn’t care for:

31

Original:

32

Effects I liked:

33

Effects I didn’t care for:

34 35 36

 

Original:

37

Effects I liked:

38 39

Effects I didn’t care for:

40

Original:

41

Effects I liked:

42

Effects I didn’t care for:

43

44

Original:

45

Effects I liked:

46

Just okay:

47

Effects I didn’t care for:

48 49 50

 

An option that the camera uses sometimes, but not in this particular series of photos, is Monochrome. I’m not a black and white fan (colour photos were invented for a reason!), so any monochrome shots automatically get deleted. Usually I dislike more shots than I like – but it’s fun to snap away, in hopes of getting that spectacular one. Of course, beauty’s in the eye of the beholder, so not everyone will agree with my choices.

Besides wishing the collages stayed together for downloading, it’d be nice to choose which effects I wanted to use with each shot. Still, the creative shot, such as it is, is a cool option in a relatively inexpensive pocket camera.

I just have to remember to turn it off after I use it. Slaps forehead!

Leave a Reply

