Introducing Visual Effects!

I’m doing a mid-week post because I have some exciting news to share. Yesterday I got the email I’ve long been waiting for. Visual Effects has a release date! My big baby will be published on April 13th. And this is my pretty, new cover.

perf5.000x8.000.indd

I really like this cover and I think it goes well with Dare to Risk All’s cover, my first book with The Wild Rose Press.

Visual Effects truly is the book of my heart. It touches on emotional subjects that affect me personally, and no matter how many times I read it, it makes my eyes leak. I don’t out and out cry, but my eyes leak and my throat hurts. Every single time. I hope it will touch my readers even half as much.

I originally wrote this story back in the late 1990’s, so needless to say when I hauled it out of mothballs in 2012, it needed major rewrites. Partway through revisions, I became overwhelmed and abandoned it to work on Dare to Risk All. Then I wrote and published It’s Complicated.

Despite needing so much work, Visual Effects continued to call to me. As I once again worked this story, I started to wonder if it was jinxed. So many things went wrong. Besides needing a ton of structural and artistic changes, I had a huge computer file snafu, which set me back incredibly. (Not to mention the twenty plus pages of chicken scratch notes I’d accumulated on this story over the years that needed to be deciphered). But, like Drey, my female character in this story, I have an abundance of tenacity.

I plugged along and plugged along. Maybe I plugged a little too long, because when I finally decided the story was finished, I had about 96,000 words. Far too many. So back I went to beginning, doing my best to eliminate some of that excess wordage. I was aiming for 86,000 in the final product and settled for 92,000. It’s a big story and it needs that many words to tell it.

This is the back cover blurb:

Drey Winston is a fierce competitor who enjoys challenging her mind and body. But when it comes to her heart—no one ever gets close enough to compete for it. Having grown up believing she was an unwanted burden to her parents, she prefers to keep her feelings well hidden. Just when her hard-fought goals are finally within reach, the audacious Jesse Devlin comes along to breach her carefully guarded defenses.

After a disastrous marriage early in life, Jesse Devlin prefers strings-free relationships. Confident and outgoing, he gets along well with women, but his natural charm can’t seem to penetrate Drey Winston’s aloofness. While attempting to win her over, he’s the one who ends up losing his heart.

Can this commitment-phobic bachelor convince the stubbornly independent woman he loves that his feelings—and hers—are the real deal?

As soon as I have the buy links, I’ll post them here and on my Facebook page.

And because I can, here’s my lovely cover one more time. 🙂

perf5.000x8.000.indd

 

 

2 thoughts on “Introducing Visual Effects!

Leave a Reply

