A Visit With Darlene Fredette

Today we welcome author, Darlene Fredette, to talk about her latest release, Hershey’s Choice.

Hi Darlene, lovely to have you here. Please tell us a little about yourself.

Darlene resides on the East Coast of Canada with her husband, daughter, and Yellow Lab. When not working on her next book, she enjoys spending time with her family. An avid reader since childhood, Darlene loves to develop the many stories swimming in her head. She writes heartwarming contemporary romances with a focus on plot-driven page-turners.

I’ve only been to your beautiful province once, but I sure enjoyed my visit. Do you live in a city or small town, and what places do you most like to visit?

I live in the city, where we’re close to everything. However, on weekends we love to visit the small towns in the Annapolis Valley.

What do you enjoy doing when you’re not writing?

I read, work on the next issue of my magazine, or schedule events for my writing group. Evenings and weekends are family time.

I treasure my family time too. And it looks like we share a love of reading. What are you reading right now?

Two books. Do You Believe in Santa by Sierra Donovan while I’m on my bike, and Solace by Gini Rifkin in the evening.

Ah, a multi-tasker! What’s your favorite genre? Is this the genre you write?

Romance. I love reading about a couple’s journey of falling in love, so it’s no surprise that I write heartwarming romances.

Where do you write these heartwarming tales? Describe your writing space.

I have an office area where my desk, files, and computer live. But I generally unplug my laptop and head for the living room to my comfy chair.

How many books have you written? Do you have a favourite?

I’ve written five books. Four of those have been published, while the fifth is in the hands of my managing editor. I always say the last book I’ve written is my favourite. I can’t pick one that stands out more than the others, so I guess they are all favourites.

How long does it take you to write a book?

I try to write as clean as possible so I don’t have several rounds of editing at the end. Writing a clean draft takes time. I enjoy writing novellas, which some writers can write in a few weeks. But because I’m a slow writer, getting to The End can take a few months.

I’m one of those edit-as-you-go writers too. Not sure if it’s a pain or a pleasure, lol. Where do you get the inspiration for your stories?

I may see a movie where a particular scene will create an idea in my head. But most times, my stories come to me while doing housework. Not that housework inspires me, or that my heroines are housekeepers, lol. The ideas just start spinning and by the time the house is clean, I have a brand new story line plotted in my head.

Is it difficult or easy for you to come up with titles and character names?

I usually choose strong names that I like and fit my characters’ personality, so character names come easy. Titles usually come easily once the story is plotted in my head. However, the story I’m currently working on gave me trouble. I had a title, but changed it more than once, so I gave it a temporary name until the perfect one came to me, and it did! While writing chapter two, I thought of a future scene and the title popped into my head.

Don’t you love it when that happens? Do you have a reoccurring theme to your books?

I prefer to mix up my story lines. I’m a plotter and like to keep the reader guessing what’s going to happen. I like to add twists and turns, so the reader says ‘I didn’t see that coming.’ Other than the romance, each book has a different theme.

Is Hershey’s Choice a stand-alone story or part of a series?

Hershey’s Choice is book one in the Choices Series. I have a second ‘Not Her Choice’ in the works, and notes for a third story.

Sounds great. Connected books are my favourite. Are any of your characters loosely based on people you know in real life?

Hershey’s features and actions are based on my Labrador, with the only difference being Hershey is a chocolate lab and my lab is yellow.

I’m rather partial to dogs, myself, and love reading stories that include them. Tell us more about Hershey’s Choice.

12196089_10208008499321138_3552637181776202862_n

Engineer Ryan Jerome has a knack for designing the future but can’t create one for himself. When Ryan lets his dog, Hershey, take the lead, going to the park is never the same. Unintentional meetings, a soiled coat, and a meddling mother are a few of the obstacles in his way of convincing Britt he’s not a stalker. Will he accept his dog’s direction and open his heart to the beautiful woman with a side of crazy?

Ruined weddings, divorced parents, and disastrous relationships have left event planner Britt Wells a non-believer in happy-ever-after. She’s readying for a future in interior design with one last wedding to oversee. Complications arise when she learns a suspected stalker and owner of an unruly dog is related to her client. Falling for Ryan and Hershey were not part of the plan. Can she put aside her doubts in relationships and take a chance on love?

Good stuff! Please share an excerpt.

A thunderous pounding trampled the ground behind her. She turned to glance over her shoulder, but the bench suddenly jolted forward to hover on its front legs before landing roughly on all fours. “Ohh.” She would have toppled face forward if her heels hadn’t been firmly dug into the grass. Britt straightened then froze in mid-motion. Warm panting breaths caressed the base of her neck. Her own breath suspended in her throat. Without moving her head, she shifted her stare to the right.

Two very large brown paws gripped the back of the bench.

“Bear!” Britt jumped to her feet. Her coat and cold coffee flew into the air in a tangled dance. With a racing pulse, she spun to see the vicious beast before her impending death. The image of a man doubled-over at the waist turned her panic quickly to anger. Beside the laughing man sat the dog she had mistaken for a bear.

“You arrogant jerk! How dare you laugh when your beast of a dog scared the life out of me.”

Now that you have us all wanting more, what can we expect from you next? Are you working on anything new?

I’m very happy to announce that I’ve returned to Redford Falls. My first book, One Sweet Christmas, took place in this small town, and I’ve wanted to give some of the secondary characters their own story. I’m keeping the current title a secret until I type The End, but this story won’t be the last in Redford Falls. There will be at least three more to come!

Congratulations and good luck with that series. Where can we find you and your books on the internet? Please share your links with us.

Contact links:

Web: http://findingthewritewords.blogspot.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DarleneLF

Twitter: https://twitter.com/DarleneLF

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/DarleneFredette/

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/DarleneLF

Purchase Links:

The Wild Rose Press:

http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/maincatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=195&products_id=6538

Amazon:

http://www.amazon.com/Hersheys-Choice-Choices-Darlene-Fredette-ebook/dp/B017OCROO6/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1447424557&sr=1-1

Barnes & Noble:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/hersheys-choice-darlene-fredette/1122885736?ean=2940151162951

Thank you for joining us today, Darlene. It was so nice chatting with you. Best wishes on the new release and all your future writing endeavors.

11 thoughts on “A Visit With Darlene Fredette

Leave a Reply

