Thanksgiving Gratitude

Happy Thanksgiving to all my Canadian family and friends. Thanksgiving is a time to spend with loved ones and, if we’re lucky, eat really yummy food. It’s also a time to give thanks for life’s blessings. Compared to so many places in the world, here in Canada, we have much to be grateful for. I personally am thankful to be able to spend this day with my firstborn son, to not only celebrate Thanksgiving, but also his birthday. And I’m thankful for the presence of my hubby, daughter-in-law and grandsons. Family time is precious, and I’m grateful to have these loved ones around me.

1

As I look back at all of the little knocks life’s given me lately, I can choose to feel overwhelmed or I can find the positive in the situations. Today I want to look for the positives, because no matter what, there’s always something to feel grateful for.

2

At the beginning of May, my wee dog broke her leg while we were traveling. I felt terrible for her pain and everything she had to go through during her twelve-week recovery. It was also a major inconvenience for me, as well as a hit to our finances. I’m thankful she made a complete recovery and doesn’t even walk with a limp now. She’s an old girl, and it could’ve been so much worse.

Also in May, our ancient AC unit decided to retire permanently. We live in a hot climate, and in the following six weeks, our house reached unbearable temperatures. This was especially tough on my little Roxy, who couldn’t even get a drink of water by herself. I’m thankful we could afford to buy a new AC, and we were able to get it installed before the worst of the summer heat hit us.

For several months, during the spring and summer, I did little else besides help my mom with her move from her condo into an independent living community. Most of my other activities were put on hold while I worked long hours at her place. I’m so very thankful for the time I spent with her, sorting through her possessions together, talking about her past, listening to her stories. Just being with her. And I’m also thankful I was in a position to make the transition to a better lifestyle as painlessly as possible for her.

Because of Roxy’s broken leg, we had to cancel our much-anticipated vacation to Vancouver Island in June. I had done so much planning and preparing for this trip, it was a real disappointment to cancel it. I’m grateful that Hubby was able to get an unexpected week of vacation in August and we could reschedule our trip, even if we had to shorten it.

Two days before we left on that trip, I injured my foot in a freak accident. The injury looked horrendous, and both my doctor and the X-ray tech thought the foot was badly broken and I should’ve been in terrible pain. I’m beyond grateful that it wasn’t broken, and because of damage to a nerve, the pain was much less severe than it might have otherwise been. Despite continuing to deal with nerve pain issues seven weeks after the injury, I’m still thankful that while on the trip I was able to walk and hike, albeit at a slower pace and for shorter durations. Bottom line, our vacation wasn’t ruined.

At the end of August, I learned that the publisher of my first two books was closing its doors, leaving my books orphans. I’m grateful to have had the opportunity to have my books published, and I’m also hopeful that they will find a new home and, in the process, be discovered by new readers.

A couple of weeks ago, I did a post that touched on having my comment deleted from someone else’s Facebook post. As a result of my blog post, this young woman unfriended me, sent me a toxic and misinformed message, then blocked me from responding to her. (You suggested I blog about it, so here it is, dear. I hope you enjoyed your “I’m so gonna un-friend you” wine, and it made you feel better.) This situation made me sad, not because I’m no longer her friend on Facebook, but because nowadays people seem so quick to find offense and overreact negatively. I had to dig a little deeper to find the reason to be grateful for this experience, and this is what I’ve come up with. I’m grateful that I’m secure enough with who I am that I don’t need to continuously seek approval from others for my own self-worth. I’m grateful that I have people in my life who love me, and not only do they love me, they like me too. These are the people I want around me. Anything else is just white-noise, and I can always turn down the volume.

It’s so easy to be grateful about this next one. My brown-eyed boy and daughter-in-law will soon be home, and I can’t wait to see them.

3

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. I hope you too can find much to be thankful for in your lives.

2 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Gratitude

Leave a Reply

