It’s A Strawberry Summer For Author Charlotte Copper

We welcome Charlotte Copper today to talk to us about her new novella—her first Young Adult romance—titled Strawberry Summer. Let’s get nosy about Charlotte first.

Who is Charlotte Copper?

Author picture

Charlotte Copper lives in Stouffville, Ontario – that’s in Canada, eh. When she isn’t working at her full-time job, Charlotte likes to craft, read, go to movies, and, of course, write. Charlotte hopes to have all of her stories published some day because, as a romance writer, she believes in happy endings!

I live in Canada too, in the southern interior of beautiful BC. Do you live in a city or small town?

My “town” is about 40,000 which is small considering I grew up in central Toronto. Stouffville is still part of the GTA (Greater Toronto Area) but we are also surrounded by farmland (and golf courses!). I’m not really a big city person. I think the suburbs fit me perfectly.

Orchards, vineyards and lots of golf courses here. When not writing, what are your favorite pastimes?

I love handicrafts, and usually have a number on the go at once. I just finished a small lap quilt for a friend’s 50th birthday and I have another quilt half way done. I’m cross-stitching a pattern with 3 fairies (to represent my three girls), and I’m trying to finish my 2014 scrapbook. I just finished crocheting a summer scarf, I’ve got a knitted lap blanket half done, and I’m part way through knitting a team-spirit scarf. (Of course, all of this could explain why I’m still reading Dragonfly in Amber.)

I have several half-finished cross-stitch projects lying around, so I get where you’re coming from. Do you have a favorite author?

I’d have to say Kelley Armstrong is my favorite author. I buy pretty much anything she writes.

What are you reading right now?

Right now I’m trying to read Dragonfly in Amber, book 2 in the Outlander series. Anyone who follows me knows I’ve been reading this for a loooong time, but I will prevail!

Diana Gabaldon writes big complicated books, but they’re worth the effort in the long run. I enjoyed them all. What’s the best thing about being a writer? What do you like the least?

I love the look on peoples’ faces when I say I’m a writer. Although I’m not really sure why it is THAT surprising! The part I like the least is all the extra promo work that we have to do. Not because I don’t like ‘meeting’ new people on-line, but because all that extra time takes away from actually writing.

Oh my, how I hate promo! I’m just not comfortable with it at all. How long does it take you to write a book?

It takes me forever to finish a book…and I only write short story/novellas. I find I can read it ten times and still find ways to make improvements on read eleven. Only after I’ve read it a couple of time with no changes do I consider it done. (Which probably means a 100,000 word book would take me years!)

I’m a slow writer too. And are we ever truly done, lol? Is it difficult or easy for you to come up with titles and character names?

I love coming up with names and titles. My original plan was to have color + word in every title, like my first story Silver Blade. But my second book which started off as Black Secret became Heart Shifter, so the plan didn’t last long.

Describe your hero and heroine.

Olivia is a high school senior. She is fun yet practical, and is an excellent soccer goalie. (I have a picture on Pinterest of Chloe Grace Moretz that is so Olivia!) I’d love to be her high school BFF. Aidan – tall and buff, with curly blond hair – just turned eighteen. He saved his mother last year from a house fire, and has to deal with both the physical and emotional scars of being a hero.

How much like yourself is your character?

My teenage self was not like Olivia at all, although I wish I had been. Olivia is more like my daughter – into sports and volunteering. Looking back now, I wish I had been more athletic, but I had a part-time job early in high school and sports didn’t seem to have as much of a focus as it does now, so I didn’t really get involved.

I was the ultimate fan as a teenager, but didn’t participate in sports either. Then I married a jock and had three jock sons. But I digress…Tell us about STRAWBERRY SUMMER.

Strawberry Summer

What could be better than working the dunk tank on a hot summer day with your best friend? How about catching the eye of the cute new boy?

Olivia is volunteering at this year’s Strawberry Festival when she meets tall, buff and curly, Aidan. If the two are to stand a chance, they must look past their scars and overcome a few misunderstandings.

We’d love to read an excerpt.

The three of them just got settled as the movie’s opening music began to play.

Olivia sat on the blanket, Aidan on one side and Cindy on the other. Her friend sat yoga style, folded up like a denim pretzel, while Olivia reclined, legs out, and leaned back on her arms, aware of Aidan’s body next to hers. Stretched out in similar fashion, his leg and broad shoulders occasionally brushing against her. Especially when he laughed.

She liked it when he laughed, and had trouble concentrating on some parts of the movie. Luckily, she’d seen it before.

“So, you weren’t a little jealous earlier, were you? When you thought I’d been kissing Dakota?” The bright festival lights reflected mischievously in his eyes.

“Uh…” Yes. “No,” answered Olivia, the heat of the truth rushed to her cheeks. She slurped the last remains of her pop. “Why?”

“I don’t know,” he said as the final credits rolled on the giant temporary screen. “Just hoping, I guess.”

I’ve never read YA before, but that’ll have to change. I’d really enjoy a sweet romance like Strawberry Summer. Where can we find you and your books on the internet? Please share your links with us.

Boroughs: http://boroughspublishinggroup.com/books/strawberry-summer

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B011B0KWY6

All Romance Books: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-strawberrysummer-1850106-149.html

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/558700

Website:  http://charlottecopperauthor.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/charlotte.copper.52

Twitter: https://twitter.com/CharlotteCopper

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/coppercharlotte

What can we expect from you next? Are you working on anything new?

I’ve got an adult light sci-fi romance releasing from Wild Rose Press in February as part of their Candy Hearts series, and I’m cleaning up my second YA, California Blue, which I hope to have ready and published later this year.

Sounds great! Thanks for spending some time with us, Charlotte. Best of luck to you with Strawberry Summer and all your future writing endeavors.

2 thoughts on “It’s A Strawberry Summer For Author Charlotte Copper

Leave a Reply

