Some of This, Some of That…

It’s been a few weeks, so I thought I’d pop in today and do a little Monday musing.

First, belated Happy Father’s Day to all the dads and step-dads and dads-to-be. I hope you all had a great day of family fun.

happy-fathers-day 1

Belated happy first day of summer too. This one always leaves me conflicted. As much as I love summer, in the back of my mind I know that as of June 21st, the days start inching shorter. As a person who can’t drive in the dark, I cherish these long days. Anyhow, here’s wishing everyone a fun summer filled with whatever makes you happy.

1506-10 Beaver Lake

Last weekend people came from near and far to celebrate my mom’s 90th birthday. On the Saturday we had an open-house and the place overflowed with neighbours, friends, and family wishing Mom a Happy Birthday. She’s touched so many lives over the years and it was heart-warming to see how many people wanted to honour her on such a milestone birthday.

0

Almost sixty people attended dinner that night, all family. There were Mom’s eight children, ten of her grandchildren and twenty of her great-grandchildren, along with many Significant Others. Several cousins also traveled from out of province to be there. It was a blessing to see them all. I wish I had more time to spend with each of them. Truth be told, I was so busy, I didn’t get a chance for much more than hugs in many cases. But that’s okay, because it wasn’t about me, it was about Mom, and she was inundated with love.

37324

There was a barbeque and other activities on Sunday, but I had to miss them all, which broke my heart. Several times on Saturday, I’d noticed a slight sore throat, but I didn’t think much more than maybe I’d been talking too much. Then I woke up during the night with a massive headache. I’m talking epic pain, worse even than any migraine. By morning I could barely lift my head and I realized I’d have to stay home. A part of me was in terror, because I’d just had close contact with upwards of a hundred people.

The next day, I accepted that I needed medical attention. Rather than a flu or infection, my doctor said it was blocked sinuses. I’d likely had a massive reaction to all the perfume, hair products, cigarette smoke and such, which usually causes a mild sore throat, stuffy nose and sinus pain. Because my sinuses couldn’t drain, the intense pain developed. Absolutely amazing how something so seemingly minor could make a person so very, very sick and cause such a huge amount of pain. Thankfully, a couple of days using a nasal rinse completely cleared away the pain.

Since doing my brain retraining, I haven’t had a single bad reaction to chemical stimulants. In fact, I’d gotten so used to not reacting, it didn’t even occur to me that I might have had one that day. So while it came as a great relief to know I hadn’t passed the plague onto anyone, it was also a disappointment to have had such a serious reaction. I’m sure being overtired, busy, stressed and excited all played a part. And having the sinuses refuse to drain certainly didn’t help. But I’m now aware that I must do more and consistent retraining.

I realized the other day that I’ve lost ten pounds since January. Ten pounds! I thought on a person of my small frame, a ten pound loss would be really noticeable, but not so much. I still have that dratted midlife muffin-top. Weight loss wasn’t my objective when I started watching what I ate and riding the recumbent bike every day. All I wanted to do was improve my cardio and fitness levels to better keep up with Hubby while we’re off being weekend warriors. I’ll never attain his level of fitness, but as we get more active throughout the summer, we’ll see if I’ve made any improvements.

And I’ll end with an update on my little Roxy. She was so good the few days I had to spend in bed, nary a complaint out of her. But as soon as I felt well enough to be up and about, she got extra demanding. I spent two days with the little princess in my arms or glued to my lap. I guess she wanted to make up for lost time.

1506-1 Roxy

IMG_5627

She has two weeks left with her cast on and then she gets x-rayed. I have my fingers tightly crossed that her old bones have healed. Unfortunately, she’s also lost a few more ounces. For a dog as small as her, those ounces count, so we have her on a high calorie diet and hopefully she’ll put some weight back on. I’m sure once the cast is off she’ll improve even more.

1506-2 Roxy

1506-3 Roxy

I’ll be featuring some of my talented fellow authors in the coming weeks. Please come back and check out their work.

Leave a Reply

