Anita Kidesu’s South Seas Seduction

Today on Monday Musings we welcome Anita Kidesu to tell us a little about herself and her debut novel, South Seas Seduction. First, let’s find out more about Anita.

Anita has been writing for only a few years, although she’s been an avid reader of romance since her teens. Four years ago she attended a romance convention as a reader. A deeply planted seed she nurtured to write romance, started to grow. The second and third years, Anita went as an aspiring author. This year she will be going as a published author.

Anita has her Masters’ Degree from a Wisconsin University, works full-time in Southern Wisconsin, and squeezes in her writing during breaks and after work. Because of her public job, she chooses to write under a pen name. In her spare time she likes to read, garden, hike, bike, and spend time with her family and friends. She is working on another book for The Wild Rose Press.

Do you live in a city or small town and what places do you most like to visit?

I live in a small town in Southern Wisconsin. I love to travel to exotic, warm places, like the Caribbean, Hawaii, Puerto Rico, etc, where I can relax and read on the beach or go snorkeling.

I love to travel too and those exotic destinations all sound perfectly divine to me. What were you like as a youngster?

I was quite quiet when I was young. I was also a science geek. Those two things combined to make me rather an outcast. I had several close friends who understood me and with whom I could be myself – which was a jokester.

What are you reading right now?

I just finished reading “Riding for Love,” by Tina Susedik and will be starting “Hands full of Ashes” by Kim Hotzon.

What is your favorite genre? Is this the genre you write?

Since I write erotica, I read a lot of it, but I also love romantic suspense and mystery. I also like humorous contemporary romances like Christie Craig and Janet Evanovich. I recently finished reading several medical suspense books by Tess Gerritsen since I’m going to a conference where she will be the keynote speaker.

Sounds like we share a similar taste in reading material. Suspense, mystery and humor are some of my favorites too. Let’s talk writing. Where do you write?

I live in a very small apartment. My writing space consists of a roll-top desk I inherited from my grandmother, and a recliner where I can write with my laptop on my lap. The small walls are lined with bookshelves for all my books.

Another similarity we share. My bookshelves are overflowing. Do you have a process you follow, or do you write as it comes to you?

I have a very basic outline of the story. I know the beginning and the end. I’ve found it frustrating to plot out a book, thinking I know what’s going to happen, to then have the characters change the story midway through. I guess I like to go with the flow.

Nothing like having an argument with a character. “You’re supposed to do this.” “No, I want to do that!” We’ve all been there. Speaking of characters, what comes first, plot or characters?

For me they come hand in hand. As soon as an idea comes to me, the characters are there. I usually have to tweak both.

What’s the best thing about being a writer? What do you like the least?

The best thing I like about writing is getting to know my characters and to live in a world far removed from my current life. The thing I like the least is editing. It’s a never-ending process. By the time South Seas Seduction came out, I think I read it eight times. It gave me great satisfaction to still like the book after reading it so many times.

How many books have you written? Do you have a favorite?

I’ve only written three so far. I’m waiting to hear back from editor to see if I’ll get another contract. I have many more in mind. Since South Seas Seduction is the only one in print, I’d have to say it’s my favorite so far.

Congratulations on that first book. It’s a wonderful feeling, for sure. Tell us more about South Seas Seduction.

Sheltered all her life as the daughter of an ambassador, Emma Labonte boards a small plane on a trip from Australia. One hijacking and a plane crash later, she finds herself on a deserted island and stranded with three different yet equally sexy men. With no hope for rescue, the four begin to carve a semblance of a life in their tropical setting. Closeness breeds curiosity, and naive Emma begins to wonder what it would be like to be loved by these three men. The adventurer Jack, Toby the intelligent doctor, and shy English professor Steve–each carve a special place in her heart. When her three men launch seduction in the South Seas, how can she resist?

Describe your hero and heroine.

At the beginning of the book in South Seas Seduction, Emma Labonte is a sheltered, naïve woman, but as the story progresses, she becomes more self-sufficient and strong. There are three men who play a large role in the story. Any of the three could be the hero. If I describe one, it’ll give away which man Emma ends up with. One is a doctor in resident, one a professor, and one an adventurer.

Sounds intriguing! Is this a stand-alone story or part of a series?

Right now the book is a stand-alone, but I would like to eventually write stories for the two men Emma doesn’t end up with. It depends on whether my editor agrees with me or not.

We’d love to read an excerpt.

Thinking about the men’s needs, she also thought about hers. She needed to set up a plan to keep some kind of control and not be simply a plaything, available every time one of them felt the urge and crooked their finger at her. No, she needed to retain some independence. With her eyes closed she ran through several scenarios. Details had to be finalized before giving them her decision.

   Activity always made her think better. Her wrinkled skin itched. Emma got out of the pool, air drying her body before getting dressed again. The sun reflected off her wedding ring. She stared at her finger.

  What if she had married the real Jean Paul? Would she have liked him better than the fake one? Would she be mourning his death? She’d liked his parents. How will they feel when they found out he was dead? Of course, that wouldn’t happen unless they were rescued.

   What if they weren’t rescued? What if Francois gets away with the murder of Jean Paul and the near murder of herself?

   Her mind whirled with the ‘what ifs.’

   “Dammit,” she whispered, closing her eyes, tears leaking at the corners.

   Before she changed her mind, she yanked off the ring, swung her arm behind her head, and tossed the offending piece of jewelry into the jungle, hoping it would rot with the rest of the vegetation. 

perf5.000x8.000.indd

 What can we expect from you next? Are you working on anything new?

I recently sent off another erotica, tentatively called “The Ranch,” to my editor. So, I’m waiting to hear back from her. I’ve been told I need to find a new title. Coming up with titles very difficult for me, so right now I have no idea what it will be called. I would like to write at least two more books based on this one.

I hear you on titles. The right one is so darn important and it’s such a relief to finally settle on one. Where can we find you and your book on the internet? Please share your links with us.

Social Media Links:

Website: https://anitakidesu.com

Blog: https://anitakidesu.wordpress.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AnitaKidesuAuthor?ref=hl

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/AnitaKidesu/

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/search?utf8=%E2%9C%93&query=anita+kidesu

Buy Links:

The Wild Rose Press: http://www.wildrosepublishing.com/wildcatalog_v151/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=200_156&products_id=1039

Amazon: http://tinyurl.com/n6wgqhu

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/c/anita-kidesu

Thank you so much, Anita, for spending time with us today. And best of luck with South Seas Seductions and all your future writing endeavors.

Leave a Reply

