Character Interview with JoAnne Myers

Today I’m hosting a character interview with Zoe, the female protagonist from “Welcome to Anna”, written by JoAnne Myers and published by Melange Books. 

JoAnne Myers: Hello Joyce, I am happy to be here today with my heroine character Zoe, from my fantasy short story anthology, Loves, Myths, and Monsters. This book is filled with bright courageous characters. Zoe is not only adorable, but is every mother’s dream in a daughter. She is bright, ambitious, caring, and reliable, and loyal to her friends. Also, I will be awarding two people who comment, each a print book of their choice. The choices are: Murder Most Foul, Loves, Myths, and Monsters, Wicked Intentions, The Crime of the Century, Twisted Love, Flagitious, and Poems About Life, Love, and Everything in Between. 

1. Please tell us a little bit about what is currently going on in your life, Zoe?

I fell in love for the first time. It was not meant to be, but it was worth the pain and disappointment of giving him up. Those mixed emotions that love stirs up, helped me to mature as an individual, and I will never forget Peter. Also, I am now enrolled in college, and my once strained relationship with my mother, Teresa, is buried and forgotten.

2. What made you decide to take on such a risky endeavor?

I really had no choice. Once Peter explained to me that my reoccurring nightmares were the bond I and this creature shared because of the car wreck, and that only a virgin could destroy a Chupracabra, the logical choice was me.

3. Did you ever imagine yourself being given the outlandish title of Chupracabra Slayer?

No never, and I certainly hope I never meet another “goat sucker” again. I barely escaped by the skin of my teeth, but once the deed was done, the nightmares ceased. 

4. Who would you say is the least pleased about your additional career choice of amateur monster hunting?

The one person who would be displeased and frightened out of her mind if she knew the whole story, would be my mother. Lucky for me she trusts me completely to make wise choices. Boy, if she only knew how close I came to losing my virginity or dying, she would send me to a convent. She means well, and like all good mothers, is a worry-wart. Ya gotta love that.

5. What are your strengths and weaknesses?

My strengths are courage, which I did not know I possessed until I had to be brave. Determination, to see the beast destroyed, and happiness that we all survived the battle. Those attributes sure came in handle that evening in the cave. My weakness was being a selfish spoiled brat, and not bonding with my birth mother sooner, and falling in love with a man I could never have.

6. Describe what being a strong, confident female means to you.

Being able to handle any situation that is thrown at me. Standing up to anyone or any situation when I feel it is right, and getting the job done.

7. What one advice/wisdom would you like to pass onto other young women?

Listen with both your heart and mind. The two need one another to make the right choice, and each day is about making choices.

8. What was one lesson you learned during this challenging time in your life?

To look outside my comfort zone. To realize that legends and monsters do exist.  To never let my guard down, which is what happened leading to my fight for survival that evening.

9. If your story or life had a theme song, what would it be?

The Eye of the Tiger. That song to me, represents willpower, self-motivation, courage, and determination.

10. Do you plan on dabbling in monster hunting in the future, or have you hung up your hunting skills?

I am not sure at this time. Destroying the Chupracabra was the most exciting and dangerous thing I have done so far. Maybe I will just write about monsters. LOL!

LMM book cover

Blurbs for “Loves, Myths, and Monsters” 11 fantasy tales entwined within the human world: 

Welcome to Anna

Little does 17-year-old Zoe realize, but the Chupracabra followed her to Ohio from South America. What happens next is a series of chilling mysteries, and unsuspecting friendships and love.

The Hunter’s Bride

All game warden Daren Abram had to worry about is which lucky lady to woo, when he comes to the realization that his town is being stalked by the reincarnation of the town’s legend.

Moon People

For teenage mermaid Constance, coming to the quaint seaside town of Willowick is heavenly, until she falls for mortal boy Drake. For the town to survive, Constance is forced to choose between her kind and the boy and town she loves.

The Pack

When young Lycan Sonny Red Blanket, a Shawnee Indian, falls for mortal girl Drenda Way, he must save her from his fellow Lycan’s and stop a werewolf uprising.

The Bidding

34-year-old Apiologist, Duncan McPherson, goes to Circleville, Ohio, to investigate a series of mysterious bee attacks. What is uncovered proves to be darker and more sinister than anyone imaged.

The Agreement

Incarcerated in the abandoned Roseville jail is the last thing rich college student and speeder, Brice Conrad, needs. With an “agreement” between the town and a permanent demonic “guest”, only the unfortunate ones know the truth, but do not live to tell.

For The Love Of Ginnie

Handsome bachelor and Scientist, Alex Anderson, from the thirtieth century, returns to the Civil War with time serum to save his beloved Ginnie Wade from a sniper’s bullet, while finding a roller coaster ride of joy and perils.

Is It Only A Myth?

When 32-year-old Vinton County Sheriff, James “Jim” Connors, discovers he has a Mothman hunting in his county, he stops at nothing to save his citizens.

The Proposition

The rough and ready cowboy, John Queenie, gets the shock of his life, when the ad to break a “wild filly” turns out to be a fiery Quaker girl named Tess. This story proves love conquers all.

The House On Shady Lane

A seemingly loving family turns out to be serial killers in 1873.

Love’s Curse

When an Egypt love curse scroll is stolen from a Dean’s office, persons begin dying in bizarre and grisly ways, with the college’s mascot, a Viking King statue, jokingly blamed for it.

Excerpt from “Welcome to Anna” Chapter 2

I do not know if it were the car wreck and the death of my grandparents, the move to Ohio, stress, or everything in general, but during the night I experienced the worst nightmare since the accident. The dream was always the same. I was running for my life through the woods behind Teresa’s home. Something horrific was chasing me. It was not human, and it was not an ordinary animal either…yet it wanted me dead. Then the man appeared in my dream. The same man each time I had this nightmare. I did not know him, but he did not scare me as the creature chasing me did. The man is good, I think.

Suddenly, a horrendous scream bolted me awake. I was covered in sweat and out of breath when Teresa came bursting into the room.

“Zoë, are you ok? I heard a loud noise,” she said, turning on my bed lamp. “Oh, my god, you’re soaking wet! What happened?”

“I’m fine, really,” I said, pushing her hands from my hot wet face. “I thought I heard something outside. An animal maybe.”

“I heard it too,” she said. “Probably just a wild dog or hawk, off in the hills. Their screams can carry for miles. You’re not in the big city anymore.”

my photo apr 2011

 

Author Bio:

JoAnne has been a long-time resident of southeastern Ohio, and worked in the blue-collar industry most of her life. Besides having several novels under her belt, JoAnne canvas paints. When not busy with hobbies or working outside the home, JoAnne spends time with relatives, her dog Jasmine, and volunteers her time within the community. JoAnne is a member of the International Women’s Writing Guild, Savvy Authors, Coffee Time Romance, Paranormal Romance Guild, True Romance Studios, National Writers Association, the Hocking Hill’s Arts and Craftsmen Association, The Hocking County Historical Society and Museum, and the Hocking Hills Regional Welcome Center. JoAnne believes in family values and following your dreams. JoAnne’s original canvas paintings, can be found at: http://www.booksandpaintingsbyjoanne.com 

Buy links:

MELANGE IN PRINT AND EBOOK:

http://www.melange-books.com/authors/joannemyers/LMM.html

LULU in print

http://www.lulu.com/shop/joanne-myers/loves-myths-and-monsters/paperback/product-21546632.html

AMAZON KINDLE STORE

http://www.amazon.com/Loves-Myths-Monsters-Collection-Urban-ebook/dp/B00JL3J4P4/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1397151617&sr=1-1&keywords=Loves%2C+Myths+and+Monsters

Reviewed by: Linda Tonis Member of the Paranormal Romance Review Team

Review: 5 ***** This was a very worthwhile book and it was very diverse. The stories ranged from romance to myths, legends and monsters both human and nonhuman.

Other books by JoAnne:

Wicked Intentions- 7 bone chilling paranormal tales

Murder Most Foul-a detective/mystery

The Crime of the Century-this true case horrified small town residents and destroyed families

Poems About Life, Love, and Everything in Between

Twisted Love-biography true crime cases from Ohio and surrounding states

Flagitious-a crime/mystery anthology

Contact JoAnne:

Website: http://www.booksandpaintingsbyjoanne.com

Blog: http://www.booksandpaintingsbyjoanne.com/page2

Email: authorjoannemyers@yahoo.com

 

4 thoughts on “Character Interview with JoAnne Myers

  1. Pingback: Character Interview with JoAnne Myers | JoAnne's Postings

  2. Pingback: Character Interview with JoAnne Myers | JoAnne Myers' WordPress.com Blog

Leave a Reply

