Thanksgiving Day at Heritage Park

A couple of weeks ago, Hubby and I made what I hope will become an annual pilgrimage to Alberta to spend Canadian Thanksgiving with our son and his family. Both my son and his wife were born on Thanksgiving Day, two years and two days apart, so it’s an extra special time for us.

This was their first Thanksgiving in their new house, in their new city, and several of us came together to celebrate it with them. My little grandsons may have not understood the significance of having both sets of grandparents, as well as two great-grandmothers and an aunty, to share this day of Thanksgiving, but its meaning wasn’t lost on the rest of us.

Sunday was the huge feast. Both turkey and ham, with all the tasty trimmings. I was very thankful to be surrounded by family, and I have a feeling Hubby was most thankful not to be the cook this year. The meal was fabulous, and although I was stuffed to the gills, I still found room for a slice of delicious pumpkin pie.

On Monday, all eleven of us spent the day at Heritage Park. Having grown up in Calgary, I’ve many happy, though foggy, memories of Heritage Park and looked forward to renewing those memories with my son and grandsons. The last time I’d been there was on my honeymoon, over thirty-six years ago, where somehow I’d convinced Hubby to pose for this picture. I wasn’t allowed to smile, I guess women had to be serious back then, but look how handsome Hubby was.

7805-5 Heritage Park

The weather was perfect, sunny and warm, and we had a busy, fun, action-packed day. The city’s fall colours were beautiful from Prospect Ridge.

38 Prospect Ridge, Heritage Park

59 Glenmore Reservoir from Prospect Ridge

The S.S. Moyie on the Glenmore Reservoir.

63 S.S. Moyie, Glenmore Reservoir

Dingman Discovery Well

54 Dingman Discovery Well, Heritage Park

We’ve seen old snowplows like this one in action.

68 Heritage Park

Funnily enough, about the only thing I remembered clearly about the park was the train. Back when I was a child, it was quite a thrill to ride on it. Judging by the enthralled look on my grandson’s face, it still holds appeal.

55 Heritage Park

105 Heritage Park

Some scenic views from around the park

93 Heritage Park

80 Heritage Park

107 Heritage Park

108 Heritage Park

I have a fondness for grain elevators. They hold many dear memories for me.

71 Heritage Park

83 Heritage Park

91 Heritage Park

This was the only street I could vaguely recall.

113 Heritage Park

Going on the rides was the highlight for the grandsons. I hadn’t been on midway rides for more years than I can remember, but I couldn’t say no to them. I rode the carousel, the tilt-awhirl and a strange little rollercoaster called a caterpillar. It was all great fun to experience it with those precious little guys.

121 Heritage Park

At the end of the day, Hubby and I took a scenic sail around the Glenmore Reservoir on the S.S. Moyie. Turns out it was the last sailing of the day and of the year. We felt special!

144 Glenmore Reservoir

150 Calgary, skyline Glenmore Reservoir

152 Glenmore Reservoir

156 Glenmore Reservoir

All in all, much to be thankful for this year. And, I was.

One thought on “Thanksgiving Day at Heritage Park

  1. Pingback: The Year of Positive Changes | joyceholmes

Leave a Reply

