BICHOK

BICHOK: butt in chair, hands on keyboard. It’s a writer’s phrase. Commonly used when we’re encouraging ourselves or others to get writing. It also describes my appearance since receiving my first round of edits on It’s Complicated last Thursday.
Technically I have a week to turn them around. But I’m leaving in a few days to visit my son and his family (hurray!!) and I want to spend my time with them, not glued to my computer. So basically I have until tomorrow evening to finish them all. Which is why I’ve had my butt in my chair and my hands on my keyboard nonstop for the past three days.
I’ve also occasionally had my hands tangled in my hair and my fingers tapping impatiently against my desktop.
It took about two hours to breeze through the entire manuscript, nodding my head and accepting the editor’s changes—all the no-brainer ones anyway. Unless you’re a writer, you probably can’t appreciate the absolute thrill of finding a solution for an awkward sentence. I have the ability to recognize an awkward sentence, both my own and those of others. I don’t, however, always have the ability to fix the problem. So I eagerly and thankfully grab the solution when it’s presented, either from my own efforts or by suggestions from someone else. Those are some of the easier edits.
But sometimes the suggestions aren’t offered or the ones that are, don’t necessarily work for the story. Those are the challenging edits. And I agonize over them. And sometimes I have to walk away for a while. I’ve been very fortunate not to have too many tough edits, and after three straight days of BICHOK, I only have a few left to sort out. Each time I go over them with fresh eyes and a clear(ish) mind, I find another answer or two. It’s a relief to know I’ll finish them all by my shortened deadline.
Then I wait for round two.

Leave a Reply

