Sorry, But Guns Do Kill

I had planned a different post for today, but the need to vent has postponed it.  Normally I try to avoid posting anything here that has to do with politics or religion.  Both subjects are a matter of opinion and I don’t feel the need to share mine.  I’m sure my opinion today won’t be popular with some people, but I’m sharing it anyway.

What got me going was a photo one of my sons posted to Facebook.  This photo was attributed to someone called Adult Humor 18+

993727_243823269121890_955490037_n

I was rather surprised that one of my kid’s would share something like that in light of the many recent shooting tragedies, and I’m sure he had no idea that he’d hit such a nerve with his mom.  He probably figured the saying was funny, catchy, and didn’t really think through the ramifications.  It happens to be a real hot-button topic for me though.

I’m not trying to pose a solution here, the scope of this problem is far beyond my grasp.  And I’m not suggesting a complete weapons ban, although stricter gun control and a ban on automatic assault weapons would go a long way in saving lives.  There is never a reason, ever, for a civilian, no matter how responsible, to own an assault weapon.  Hunters don’t hunt with assault weapons, trap shooters don’t practice with assault weapons.  Assault weapons are used to kill people.  Period.

What annoys me is the way gun proponents try to perpetrate the myth that guns don’t kill.  The saying “Guns don’t kill people, people kill people” gets my blood boiling every time.  People kill people with guns more than they kill people with anything else combined.  These are some sad and very sobering stats verified by Snopes:

In 2011, the percentage of weapon types used in homicides throughout the US were as follows:

Firearms: 67.8%

Knives and other cutting instruments: 13.4%

Personal weapons (hands, fists, feet, etc): 5.7%

Blunt objects (clubs, hammers, etc): 3.9%

Other dangerous weapons: 9.2%

Read more at http://www.snopes.com/politics/guns/baseballbats.asp#5k2eeAkCFKQMMpLj.99

Here are some more disturbing facts:

In 2010, there were 19,392 firearm-related suicide deaths, and 11,078 firearm-related homicide deaths in the United States.

Read more at  http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gun_violence_in_the_United_States

Still say guns don’t kill?

So often I hear the counter argument that people also kill with bats, with knives, with cars and so on.  That’s such a cop-out.  Most definitely, if a person is bent on killing someone they have a multitude of ways to go about it, but few are as deadly as a gun.

Turn a crazed person loose in a shopping mall with a baseball bat and I’m positive that before he can do much damage, a couple of brave bystanders are going to gang tackle him and neutralize the danger.  Give that same person an assault rifle and the only way that scenario is going to end is either by him killing himself or law enforcement doing it for him, but not before he inflicts massive carnage.

And that leads me to a related beef.  Misinformation.  It’s rampant.  With easy access to the internet this misinformation can spread like wild-fire.  Weekly I get emails or see posts on Facebook and Twitter containing blatantly false information, usually about a political party or certain nationalities, but there’s a whole wide range of subjects.  Some are just silly, harmless, but untrue.  More often they’re derogatory and potentially dangerous.  Yet people will blithely and blindly pass the information on without checking to see whether there’s any truth to it.  Granted, there are some people who enjoy maliciously passing on the misinformation, but others naively assume if so-and-so sent it to them, it must be true.  I have to question the mindset and morality of the person who originally composed these slanders.

My request to you is before you pass on such defamatory misinformation, just take a moment to ascertain whether there’s any truth to the story before you hit that send button.  If it doesn’t contain genuine facts, don’t perpetrate the fallacy.  Don’t be irresponsible, think about the ramifications of posting something questionable, even if it’s broached in a humourous way or with catchy phrases.

Trust me, you’ll come off looking much more intelligent.

This week I wrote 4040 words and my wip stands at 45,773 words.

Leave a Reply

