Lots of Research and Some Fun in the Sun

I have a good reason for being late with my weekend blog post.  I was off doing research in Vancouver.  It was a whirlwind trip, packed full of activities, and I’m so very glad to have finally got it done.

To back up a little bit…

Writing on my current wip has been pretty well non-existent in the past few weeks, which has caused me no end of frustration.  I suffered a flare-up of diverticulitis a little over two weeks ago, nasty stuff that is not only painful but potentially very dangerous.  I don’t know if it was part of the illness or a side effect of the meds, but I developed a headache to beat all headaches.  It probably didn’t help that I insisted on going to work every day.  By time I got home, all I could do was lie on the couch.  I couldn’t read, I could listen to TV but not watch it, and I could only go on the computer for brief moments at a time.  A complete and utter waste of time – that lasted for more than a week.  Thankfully the headaches gradually eased and I was able do more than lie around.  Unfortunately, writing then had to take a backseat to everything else I’d fallen behind on.

I completely reclaimed my life last Thursday.  The first day with no headaches and a return of energy.  Relative normalcy came just in time to keep my appointment with renowned Okanagan artist, Rod Charlesworth.  My current male character, Tom O’Shay, is an artist and it didn’t take me long to figure out I needed a few pointers.  Lucky for me, my family has known the Charlesworth family for many years, and even luckier for me, Rod is a kind and generous man who took the time to answer all my questions and show me his studio.  You can learn more about Rod’s work here:  http://www.rodcharlesworth.com/  and here:  https://www.facebook.com/pages/Rod-Charlesworth-Fine-Art/101932833178785

After work on Friday, Hubby and I left for a long-delayed trip to Vancouver.  This was a multi-purpose trip, but the main thrust was to scout out locations for my current wip, It’s Complicated.  My youngest son moved to Vancouver last year, so we took the opportunity to deliver the last of his stuff.  The timing worked out well, because he is currently staying with us while doing prep work for a movie he’ll soon be shooting in the Okanagan.  He house-sat for us while we stayed at his bachelor pad in Kitsilano.

When the sun shines in Vancouver, it’s arguably the most beautiful city in the world.  Lucky for us, the sun shone all weekend.  Because I’m me, I took tons of pictures and if I can find the time to download and edit them this week, I’ll share the beauty of our trip with you next weekend.  In the meantime, I have lots of notes to compile.  I might not have gotten any actual writing done, but as any writer knows, the research is equally important, and I’ve done plenty of that lately.

84 English Bay, Vancouver, North Shore Mtns from Kits beach

Leave a Reply

