Nova Scotia in a day

Red-eye.  Seven hours, Calgary to Halifax on a full plane and I’m stuck in the middle seat between my hubby, who squirmed non-stop, and a young mom holding an equally squirmy fourteen month old.  Needless to say, I resembled a sleep-deprived zombie when we touched down in Halifax at 6:30 AM (2:30 according to my body’s clock).

It’s a blustery day, but not raining, and we made good use of multi-layered jackets – and the seat warmers (Dodge Avenger rental car, nice!!).

I’m a self-proclaimed lighthouse chaser and have dragged my poor hubby many miles to get a peek and perhaps a photo or two (dozen) of a lighthouse.  Peggy’s Point lighthouse was the first of many on this trip’s list.  Set on a stunningly rugged granite outcrop with the Atlantic Ocean as a backdrop, it didn’t disappoint.

46 Peggy's Point lighthouse, Peggy's Cove, NS

Peggy’s Cove, itself, was a charming and picturesque little fishing village and I could’ve spent the entire day meandering around snapping photos.

38 Peggy's Cove, NS

But we still had many miles to go and the hours were ticking by.

Next stop, Hantsport, NS, ancestral home of the Holmes clan.  My mission: take photo of Hubby standing beside a “Holmes Hill Road” street sign.  (Yes, it’s named after the family way back when)

65 Holmes Hill Rd, Hantsport, NS

For good measure I also took one of him standing in the middle of same-said road.  Almost got us both run over, but what the hey, you gotta do what you gotta do, and he’s very good about indulging my quirky photo habits.  My motto is “Never turn down a good photo-op” – as long as I’m not the one in the photo (I’m trying to reform, honest).  I’ve made Hubby pose for so many photos over the years, he’s developed what we call his “picture smile”.

I digress…

The lovely old cemetery in Hantsport, called Riverbank Cemetery, is chockfull of Holmes ancestors.  Hubby felt a profound sense of heritage reading those ancient tombstones, which in itself made the trip worthwhile.  Once again, the clock was running against us and we headed back to Halifax before we were ready to leave.

Not saying I’m long-winded or anything, but I promised/suggested I’d keep these posts short and this is becoming quite the opposite, so I plan to come back tomorrow to continue.  To join me click HERE.

12 thoughts on “Nova Scotia in a day

  1. Pingback: An Old Friend and Precious Children | joyceholmes

  2. Pingback: It was the best of days, it was the worst of days… | joyceholmes

  3. Pingback: Holy Titanic, is that an iceberg?? | joyceholmes

  4. Pingback: A Breezy Birthday | joyceholmes

  5. Pingback: Row houses, churches and hills abound…Downtown St. John’s | joyceholmes

  6. Pingback: Lighthouse, Iceberg and Fog… Oh my!! | joyceholmes

  7. Pingback: If you don’t like the weather, wait five minutes…well, maybe a half an hour. | joyceholmes

  8. Pingback: Our last day didn’t disappoint… | joyceholmes

  9. Pingback: Oh, How We’ve Changed | joyceholmes

  10. Pingback: Stepping Away… | joyceholmes

Leave a Reply

